Monthly Archives: August 2012

Source:  June 29, 1972, Paris Theatre BBC Studios in London

This is the track list according to the BBC Transcription Reels:
1 Ice Cream Cakes
2 Morning Dew
3 Goin’ Down
4 Definitely Maybe
5 News Ways/Train Train
6 Ain’t No Sunshine
7 Got The Feeling
8 Let Me Love You

Some notes on the BBC Transcription Reel (posted at musictravellers.blogspot):

“After Rod Stewart left the Jeff Beck Group in 1971, Beck had intended to form a power trio with Vanilla Fudge members Carmine Appice (drums) and Tim Bogert (bass), but those plans were derailed when he suffered a serious car crash in 1970. By the time he recuperated in 71, Bogart and Appice were playing in Cactus, so the guitarist had formed a new version of the Jeff Beck Group.

Featuring keyboardist Max Middleton, drummer Cozy Powell, bassist Clive Chaman, and vocalist Bobby Tench, the new band recorded Rough And Ready (1971) and Jeff Beck Group (1972). Neither album attracted much attention. A far superior artifact of this lineup is the group’s European Tour in 1972. Taken from a Radio 1 “In Concert” these reels boast the band in devastating form. Of all the Jeff Beck bands, this lineup was always the most musically satisfying. They possessed a depth and quality that remains unparalleled by Beck’s subsequent project bands. From the weeping duo guitars of Beck and Tench on the ballad Definitely Maybe to the absolutely definitive soul classic rendition of “Ain’t No Sunshine”, the band preen and strut like possessed demons. Beck’s walking on water!

Cactus dissolved in late 1972, and Beck, Bogert and Appice formed a power trio the following year. The group’s lone studio album was widely panned due to its plodding arrangements and weak vocals, and the group disbanded the following year.”

Re-release on K&S



“Our first record, the first issue of these tracks in the original world. Our tape came from the soundtrack of the then-obscure Japanese film. The cover was found by Ted McCue at a California artisans` fair. Listed in Hot Wacks (hereafter referred to as “HW”) as a copy of another LP. Wrong. In an experiment with color a while later, we reissued this as “Five nights in a Judo Arena” on a label with an outrageous pun for a name. The cover of 1900 is the only Sgt.Pepper outtake we’ve ever seen.”

These words were written in the 1970’s and since then many more outtake photos from the Sgt. Pepper cover session have surfaced. In 1974, the cover must have been quite “hot”, of course.

The Doctor was born April 1, 1796 in a most austere farmhouse in his native Anytown, USA and he died in the same room July 4,1976 the victim of a supposed crossbow accident. Some said it was suicide. Some said it was jealousy. Some said it was merely an assassination. All we know is that it was not a mistake. During its life the Amazing Kornyfone Record Label created ninety-eight projects: eighty-five single albums, twelve double albums and one triple album. Since the late doctor’s demise, any number of curious entities have appeared utilizing the Doctor’s graven images, taking his otherwise good name in vain. Hopefully, these writings will help set the record straight once and for all.

Well, first off, let’s mention what won’t be listed and is available elsewhere: The track lists. These listing here are meant to be used in conjunction with the track lists which can be found in an edition of Hot Wacks, a publication which appears out of Canada. Where Hot Wacks titles are inaccurate, they have been corrected here. Our source is the fourth edition Hot Wacks, published in early 1978.
Secondly, it should be understood that Kornyfone Records were issued in three stages. It breaks down like this. First came 1900 through 1950. Then a semi retirement, then back for 1951 to 1984. Another pause, then a reunion, under curious circumstances, to create a project to utilize unused numbers in the 1900-1984 sequence. (The final efforts are marked with a double-cross #, for identification).
Thirdly, the albums are listed numerically although this is not the strict order of issue but more or less accurate taking into account the third issue mentioned above.

Finally, it is to be noted that a number of albums were issued after the first post 1950 retirement using Kornyfone numerical sequences 1960-1968 although these discs neither looked nor smelled like TAKRL Records the world had come to know and love. When Kornyfone restarted, these bogus Lps were ignored and series 1990-1997 was created. A nine with a bar over its 9 is a proof reader’s symbol that a nine should be inverted to be a six. These records were also marked “Lost in our vault’s until now” as another clue to you. These records appear in this list in their proper place. Other than that, there are only two mistakes in the TAKRL numerical sequencing and we will speak of that when we get to` em. Thank you. Let’s get started.”


End of a bootleg label – evidence collected by the Westminster, CA police department:

Welcome! I started getting interested in bootleg vinyl in the mid 70s, attracted by the idea that a band’s/performer’s collectable works could be expanded immensely by including surviving recordings from their live performances and studio outtakes.

The focus of the blog is on cover art design and an analysis of the what you are actually listening to. I will start with the label that gave this blog its name, as they not only were a major player in the mid 70s but also had some excellent cover designs. Other releases will follow. I started this work on the Facebook group “TAKRL: The Amazing Kornyfone Record Label” and I wanted to have more control over the format this way.


“Though TAKRLs ‘experiments’ were not always successful, either aesthetically or commercially, they were at last issuing something different from standard bootleg fodder…”

And they had some fun with it, at least it looks like they did – and I like that.