Starr, Ringo



Released ca. early 1973, unless WCF’s 40XX series, which includes recordings taped in the fall of 1972, was issued with month-long gaps between them.

From the description on, we know that WCF reissued this album as part of their folder-type cover series ca. 1974 but I have yet to find an image of this: “It has a folder type wrap-around sleeve with a black and green, or green and white cartoon insert of Harrison.”

The material is identical with the FRT BRK 1001 version. Considering how WCF was mainly a copy label, I feel it’s justified to claim that this version shown here came first.



HOT WACKS has contradicted itself for year in these two listings saying Bang Records 4022 contains excerpts from the second (evening) show) while claiming FRT BRK1001 is from the “afternoon concert, not evening from which Apple LP’s were made.”

Eight Arms To Hold You  confirms that this and The Greatest Show On Earth (Share Records GH-6699), later copied by CBM (or the other way around) as Madison Square Garden August 1, 1971 and issued in several different variations – stamped cover, insert, with Carnaby, Instant Analysis or blank labels (matrix: SAD 1 / 2) – do indeed come from the evening show.


All performances on the official double album were taken from the evening show, with the exception of “Wah Wah” (compiled from afternoon & evening show), “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” and Leon Russell’s medley, which were entirely taken from the afternoon multi-track tapes. That means The Greatest Show On Earth and the CBM issues remain core for WMGGW, while FRT BRK 1001 and the WCF copy are core for Leon Russell’s medley as well.

However, sine the audio quality for both masters seems to be rather challenging – “Satisfactory mono, a lot of crowd noise”and “Poor mono” for FRT BRK 1001/WCF 4022, this is for hardcore collectors only.

Track list for the two versions:

FRT BRK 1001 & WCF 4022 A/B:

A1 My Sweet Lord
A2 It Ain’t Easy
A3 Beware Of Darkness
A4 While My Guitar Gently Weeps
A5 Jumpin’ Jack Flash Medley
B1 That’s The Way God Planned It
B2 Mr Tambourine Man
B3 Just Like A Woman
B4 Something
B5 Bangla Desh

The Greatest Show On Earth & CBM issues:

A1 My Sweet Lord  4:12
A2 Beware Of Darkness  3:22
A3 While My Guitar Gently Weeps  4:20
A4 Here Comes The Sun  2:38
A5 Something  2:58
A6 Bangla Desh  4:14
B1 A Hard Rain’s Gonna Fall  5:27
B2 It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry  2:58
B3 Blowin’ In The Wind  3:38
B4 Mr. Tambourine Man  4:07
B5 Just Like A Woman  4:38


Ringo Starr D A O

Ringo Starr D A O b

Ringo Starr D A O det

USA: 1980

Ringo’s first bootleg, except it’s not even that but basically a pirate since most material has been sourced from officially released tracks.

Side 1:

  • Down And Out – The B side and non-album track of Ringo’s hit single. Despite Melvin’s claim, George Harrison does not play on this track.

Down and Out

  • Six ‘O Clock – The extended 5 minute 26 seconds version of this Photograph album track combines the standard version with the coda or “insert”. Apart from the promo version of the album it was also included on all pre-“nice price”cassette tapes, so was not even particularly rare. Paul and Linda provided backing vocals, piano and synthesizer.
  • Heart On My Sleeve
  • Hard Times – these two tracks were taken from the Ringo US TV special promoting his latest album Bad Boy (they are in segment 5/6).

“The highlight of the special was easily the brief live performance by “Ringo’s Roadside Attraction”, another precursor of the “All-Starr Band” concept. The musicians included the core group from the Bad Boy LP: Ringo, Dee Murray on bass, Keith Allison and Lon Van Eaton on guitar and Dr. John on keyboards. The live performance took place at a Los Angeles studio in front of an invited audience of 500. Musical director for the special was legendary songwriter Jimmy Webb.”(Eight Arms To Hold You, Madinger & Easter. p. 515)


  • Band Of Steel – In early 1976, Ringo played drums on American singer songwriter Guthrie Thomas’ album sessions for his Lies And Alibis album. In addition, Guthrie accepted this country song written by Ringo for the Beaucoup Of Blues album in 1970. Ringo shares co-lead vocal duties on the final recording.


  • A Man Like Me – Taken from the 1978 Ringo TV special as well.

Side 2:

  • Living In A Pet Shop
  • Scouse’s Dream
  • Running Free
  • Boat Ride
  • Scouse The Mouse
  • I Know A Place
  • S.O.S.
  • A Mouse Like Me – Ringo’s final project for Polydor in the fall of 1977 was contributing lead vocals on eight tracks as well as to the dialogue segments of this children’s story album. It was only released in the UK, went out of print almost immediately and originals in good shape – counterfeit copies exist – command a hefty price. The cartoon version Melvin refers to actually never materialized due to a strike at the producing UK TV station ITV.