JAMES TAYLOR – LIVE NEW YORK – Nov. 1972 :(pre) Berkely Records, 4033 & 4044


Taylor J L NY 72 4033 Sweet 2

Taylor J L NY 72 4033

Taylor J L NY 72 4033 alt

Above, the alternate insert version.

The “Volume 1/2” designation found in the HOTWAX listings apparently added by them as it’s not found anywhere on these inserts.



Taylor J L NY 72 bTaylor J L NY 72 4044 lbl

Taylor J L NY 72 4044 alt

Year: 1973

Source: November 3 or 4, 1972 – Radio City Music Hall, NY 0 audience recording,                                         “I’ve got a lot to be happy for tonight,” announced an elated James Taylor at his Radio City Music Hall concert on Nov. 3, 1972. Earlier that evening, the 24-year-old troubadour had wed balladeer Carly Simon, 27, at her Manhattan apartment. No matter that the bride’s first hit had been the marriage-skeptical ”That’s the Way I’ve Always Heard It Should Be” — the audience roared its approval when Simon joined her ”steamroller” on stage. ” [If that’s not on this album, than it’s probably from the 4th.]

Label: From the producers that would eventually bring you Berkley Records. Mostly found as two single LP’s and as it was produced during a time when this outfit produced relatively low runs, not impossible but also not that easy to find.

4044 runs at the incorrect speed.

Notes from a collector: “My copy comes in a double gatefold sleeve with two inserts…. The labels are blank, but the dead wax area of the first record has 4033-A and -B, and the second has 4044-A and -B engraved by hand.


101 Sweet Baby James
102 Makin' Whoopee
103 Riding On A Railroad
104 Long Ago And Far Away
105 Lo And Behold
106 Anywhere Like Heaven
107 Brighten Your Night With My Day
108 Something In The Way She Moves
109 Highway Song
110 Sunny Skies
111 Carolina In My Mind
112 Rainy Day Man
113 Instrumental
114 Hymn
115 Fanfare

201 Nobody But You
202 You've Got A Friend
203 Chili Dog
204 New Tune
205 Back On My Feet Again
206 Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
207 Country Road
208 One Man Parade
209 Steamroller Blues
210 Fire And Rain
-- Encore
211 (You Can) Close Your Eyes

James Taylor
Danny Kortchmar (guitar), 
Leland Sklar (bass), 
Craig Doerge (keyboards) 
and Russ Kunkel (drums).

Just presented as a needledrop on dime a few years ago.




3 November 1972


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: