Clapton Snowhead

Also found with Slipped Disc and blank white labels.

Source: KBFH compilation of Eric’s second Santa Monica Civic show on February 12, 1978 plus one track (“Sign Language”) from their Dallas, TX – 15 November 1976 partial recording.

Wolfgangsvault has the following master tapes in its archives:

Dallas Convention Center (Dallas, TX) November 15, 1976

    1 Hello Old Friend 03:57
    2 Sign Language 03:57
    3 Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door 05:51
    4 Blues Power 12:13
    5 Crowd 00:42
    6 Layla 12:33


Santa Monica Civic Auditorium (Santa Monica, CA), February 12, 1978

    1 Crowd 00:48
    2 Medley: Peaches And Diesel / Wonderful Tonight 04:51
    3 Wonderful Tonight 04:01
    4 Lay Down Sally 05:25
    5 Next Time You See Her 04:34
    6 The Core 09:12
    7 We’re All The Way 03:07
    8 She’s In Love With A Rodeo Man 03:26
    9 Fool’s Paradise 04:16
    10 Cocaine 07:14
    11 Badge 08:35
    12 Double Trouble 06:29
    13 Interlude 01:00
    14 Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out 04:48
    15 Let It Rain 07:15
    16 Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door 05:43
    17 Last Night 04:16
    18 Layla 06:52
    19 Crowd 02:29
    20 Bottle Of Red Wine 04:49
    21 Interlude 00:40
    22 You’ll Never Walk Alone 04:02

Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Dick Sims – keyboards
George Terry – guitar
Carl Radle – bass, vocals
Marcy Levy – vocals
Jaime Oldacker – drums



“This may be – in terms of the number of different releases – the most-circulated Clapton recording among collectors.  This is with good reason, as it’s a good show! Over the years many incomplete versions of this performance were traded among collectors, and then among the first Clapton ROIO released on vinyl [I would disagree though that Snowhead was one of the first Clapton vinyl bootlegs], then on some of the very first Clapton CD ROIO releases.”

” “The Core”, and the blues medley (“Going Down Slow”, and “Ramblin’ On My Mind”) from this performance were later released as part of the “Crossroads 2: Live in the Seventies” box set. If you listen and compare, it’s clear that the officially released versions are remixed – it’s a shame they dole out bits and pieces instead of the whole show! Still, this is a neat one and a personal favorite.  Of note, EC instrumentals are rare enough in concert, but to open a show with one and then segue into one of the few truly er, wonderful, versions of “Wonderful Tonight” is a real treat.”

  1. Doinker said:

    Hello again. I have what I think is a reissue of this LP called “Snownose”. Grubby title IMO. I can check the plates and let you know if it’s the same thing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: