death 532: george harrison & paul simon ‘LIVE FROM NEW YORK…’ / ‘LIVE! For the Record’ 352

Harrison Simon Live From New York Death 352

Recorded November 18, 1976 – NBC TV Studios, New York, NY

A1     George Harrison, Lorne Michaels, Don Pardo, Paul Simon – Opening         
A2     Paul Simon –     Still Crazy After All These Years         
A3     Paul Simon –     Fifty Ways To Leave Your Lover        
A4     George Harrison, Paul Simon –     Here Comes The Sun        
A5     George Harrison, Paul Simon –     Homeward Bound
A6     George Harrison –     Crackerbox Palace (promo video soundtrack)
B1     Paul Simon –     Something So Right        
B2     Dan Aykroyd, Paul Simon –  Skit    
B3     George Harrison –     This Song (promo video soundtrack)    
B4     Paul Simon –     Bridge Over Troubled Water

In other words, someone videotaped the broadcast episode and used that to master this bootleg LP. This is not even the rehearsal tape as I had thought, which would have at least offered a rare recording.

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): XXXX 532-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): XXXX 532-B

“17 1/2 minutes of the Saturday Night Live taping exists as a fair quality audience tape. Most of the performances are fragmentary and consist of little more than a single line. Better quality excerpts of the recording (which appears n its most complete form on [the CD] Living In The Underground) can be found on the 2LP set Somewhere In Utopia. The performances included in the broadcast do not appear on the rehearsal tape.”

1. Here Comes The Sun (2 passes)                                                                                                                   2. Homeward Bound
3. By Bye, Love                                                                                                                                                        4. Don’t Let Me Wait Too Long                                                                                                                             5. Yesterday                                                                                                                                                             6. Bridge Over Troubled Water                                                                                                                             7. Rock Island Line                                                                                                                                                8. Ride Of The Valkyries                                                                                                                                          9. Here Comes The Sun

[Madinger, Easter: Eight Arms To Hold You, p. 456]

An episode transcript with still images can be found here:


Also found on the net is this release with the intriguing number that shuffles the one used by Death:

Simon & Harrison Live For The Record 352

As this clearly came out in 1977 but the Wizardo 350 numbers did the year before, I do not believe this is a previously unknown WRMB 352 release.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: