Excitable Recordworks 4511-1: THE ROLLING STONES ‘GET YOUR LEEDS LUNGS OUT’ :TMOQ 73033

Rolling Stones GYLeeds Lungs Out

Source: University of Leeds, March 13th 1971, as recorded by the Rolling Stones crew and later given to the BBC. collectorsmusic.com writes: “This tape was broadcast as a BBC Radio special on April 13th and again on May 30th on “Sunday Music” hosted by John Peel.  The show was played a month before the release of Sticky Fingers (with the radio broadcast a month after to benefit from the LP’s release), and their playing in these live shows has the same dark, cut throat nihilism. “

A1 Dead Flowers [04:37]
A2 Stray Cat Blues [03:42]
A3 Love In Vain [06:28]
A4 Midnight Rambler [12:46]
B1 Bitch [05:53]
B2 Honky Tonk Women [03:14]
B3 (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction [05:22]
B4 Little Queenie [04:18]  

Q: Excellent mono

Original set list: Jumping Jack Flash (unavailable), Dead Flowers, Stray Cat Blues, Love In Vain, Midnight Rambler, Bitch, band introduction, Honky Tonk Women, (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction, Little Queenie, Brown Sugar, Street Fighting Man, Let It Rock “… and presumably ”Live With Me.”  The tape cuts in with Mick Jagger introducing the new song “Dead Flowers” and what follows is a brilliant performance all around.

“Midnight Rambler” has a strange sounding, happy introduction before the song gets started.  Jagger is very animated during “Midnight Rambler” as he repeats his smut with “go down on me baby.”  The new song “Bitch” is referred to as an “uptempo ditty.”

But the arrangement of “Satisfaction” is very strange.  The ending has two Chuck Berry covers and one of the most aggressive performances of “Brown Sugar” on tape.”

Rolling Stones GYLeedsLO b

I believe Ken’s TMOQ ‘smokin’ pig’ version was the first release of this material in 1974:

Rolling Stones GY Leeds Lungs TMOQ

ERW 4511 was not a straight copy of this earlier LP as the master was a different one. Hot Wacks feels this first version sounds less good than the 1979 one but dbboots.com makes no difference between the two, rating them both “Excellent mono”.

A1 Dead Flowers [03:44]
A2 Stray Cat Blues [04:04]
A3 Love In Vain [06:27]
A4 Bitch [04:00]
A5 Brown Sugar [04:41]
B1 Band intro [00:51]
B2 Honky Tonk Women [03:07]
B3 (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction [05:01]
B4 Midnight Rambler [12:25] 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: