ZAP 7856: BOB DYLAN The Night The Review Came To Boston

Harvard Square Theater, Cambridge, MA – November 20th, 1975 [for once the essential bobsboots site has the date and cover wrong]

A1    It Ain’t Me, Babe*
A2    Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll
A3    It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry
A4    Romance in Durango*
A5    Isis
B1    Simple Twist of Fate*
B2    Oh Sister
B3    Hurricane
B4    One More Cup of Coffee
B5    Sara

Complete set was:

1. T-Bone Burnett with Guam – Hulahoop
2. Steven Soles with Guam – Don’t Blame Me
3. Rob Stoner with Guam – Too Good to Be Wasted
4. Mick Ronson with Guam – Is There Life On Mars?
5. Bob Neuwirth and Ronee Blakely with Guam – Alabama Dark
6. Ronee Blakely with Guam – I Need A New Sun Rising
7. Bob Neuwirth with Guam – Cindy
8. Bob Neuwirth with Guam – Mercedes Benz
9. Joni Mitchell – Edith and the Kingpin
10. Joni Mitchell – Don’t Interrupt the Sorrow
11. Bob Neuwirth – Ramblin Jack
12. Ramblin’ Jack Elliot – Muleskinner Blues
13. Ramblin’ Jack Elliot – Talking song about road trip
14. Ramblin’ Jack Elliot – South Fork West Virginia
15. Ramblin’ Jack Elliot – I am a Rich and Ramblin Boy

16. When I Paint My Masterpiece
17. It Ain’t Me, Babe
18. The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll
19. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
20. Romance In Durango (Levy/Dylan)
21. Isis (Dylan/Levy)
22. Blowin’ In The Wind
24. Wild Mountain Thyme (Trad)
25. Mama, You Been On My Mind
26. Dark As A Dungeon (Merle Travis)
27. I Shall Be Released
28. Joan Baez – Diamonds & Rust
29. Joan Baez – Swing Low Sweet Chariot
30. Joan Baez – All My Trials
31. Joan Baez – Love Song to A Stranger
32. Joan Baez – Long Black Veil (tape flip cuts beginning of song)
33. Joan Baez – Please Come to Boston
34. Roger McGuinn – Chestnut Mare
35. Roger McGuinn – Eight Miles High
36. Joan Baez and Roger McGuinn – The Night They Drove Ol’ Dixie Down
37. Simple Twist Of Fate
38. Oh Sister (Dylan/Levy)
39. Hurricane (Levy/Dylan)
40. One More Cup Of Coffee (Valley Below)
41. Sara
42. Just Like A Woman
43. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
44. This Land Is Your Land (Woody Guthrie)’s Cambridge 1975 Complete comes from a complete, very good stereo audience recording the previous day. The tape surfaced on vinyl on the misnamed The Night The Revue Came To Boston (ZAP 7856). It sounds as good as the Boston tape the following day and sounds like it comes from the same taper. It is very easy on the ears and captures another great show from the Rolling Thunder Revue tour when they were very loose and enjoying the experience. This show is the source for several official releases. “It Ain’t Me Babe”, “Blowing In The Wind”, and “Knocking On Heaven’s Door” were released in the film Renaldo And Clara (January 25th, 1978 (long version) and late 1978 (short version)). “It Ain’t Me Babe” was also released on promotional maxi-EP 4 Songs From Reynaldo And Clara (CBS XSM 164035, January 1978) and on CD single Dignity (MTV Unplugged) (Columbia COL 661 400 2, 11 April 1995) .

Finally “It Ain’t Me Babe”, “Romance In Durango”, “Momma You Been On My Mind”, “Simple Twist Of Fate”, and “Knocking On Heaven’s Door” were released on The Bootleg Series, vol. 5 – Bob Dylan Live 1975: The Rolling Thunder Revue, (Columbia 510140 3/Col. 510140/3000) released on November 26th, 2002.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: